Carlo De Benedetti

1475097022 carlo de benedetti
Carlo De Benedetti is the Chairman of MacroGeo. De Benedetti is one of Italy's most successful entrepreneurs, with over fifty years of management and investment experience. He is currently the Chairman of Gruppo Editoriale L’Espresso (the publishing company of Limes, the Italian Review of Geopolitics, and of La Repubblica, one of Italy's leading newspapers) and Honorary Chairman of Cofide and CIR (Compagnie Industriali Riunite), one of Italy's most relevant private holding companies listed on the Milan Stock Exchange, with around 14 thousand employees, which he founded in 1976. Previously he was at the helm of Olivetti, first as CEO (1978 to 1996) and subsequently as Honorary Chairman (1996 to 1999). During his tenure he revolutionized the company, moving it from the manufacturing of typewriters to the production of computers. In 1995 Olivetti entered the telecommunications space with Omnitel and Infostrada, which eventually became part of the Vodafone group. Carlo De Benedetti began his entrepreneurial career in 1959 in the family business, Compagnia Italiana Tubi Metallici Flessibili, which later became Gilardini. He graduated at the Turin Politecnico in 1958 with a degree in Electrical Engineering.

Carlo De Benedetti is a member of various international associations, including the Reuters Institute Advisory Board (Oxford). He is Chairman of the Rodolfo De Benedetti Foundation which he founded in 1998, in memory of his father, to promote research in the field of economic policy in relation to the labour market and welfare systems in Europe. He is Chairman of the Foundation Together to Go – TOG which he founded in 2011 for the rehabilitation of children suffering from neurological diseases. He is Honorary Chairman of Make in Italy-CDB Foundation, which he contributed to create in 2014, a non-profit foundation for the development of innovation and the support to the growth of the Italian FabLabs.

Carlo De Benedetti received the title of “Cavaliere del Lavoro” in 1983, was awarded the Légion d'Honneur in 1987, the Silver Medal for Merit by the Republic of Austria in 2006 and in 2015 he also received the title of Commandeur de la Légion d'Honneur.